In order to become a School Bus Driver in Douglas County, an applicant must have a good driving record, they must pass a drug test, be fingerprinted, and a background check is conducted to make certain that only those who are safe around children drive our buses. A physical examination is required before licensing and must be updated every other year (every year after the age of 60). By law, drivers are chosen for random drug and or alcohol testing on a regular basis.
Training consists of passing a written DMV test for Commercial Drivers License, Class “B” with an air brake and passenger endorsement test. Only after they pass the written test do they start the training by our instructors. Nevada State Law requires a minimum of 20 hours of classroom and 20 hours behind the wheel training for School Bus Drivers. Unless a person has had prior experience, we have found that it takes much more time to teach a driver the skills necessary to drive a school bus, 60 or more hours is common.
After a driver has completed the initial training, they are tested behind the wheel in a vehicle inspection, an intensive skill course, and an on the road test. If they pass all of the required driving tests they receive their Commercial Drivers License. Our drivers are not released to drive on their own until they drive at least 4 routes with an instructor and/or veteran driver on-board evaluating their performance.
All of our drivers are evaluated periodically. An in-service class plus safety meeting are conducted and each driver must pass an annual state test in order to keep their Nevada School Bus Driver’s Certificate.
We are a group of people who take our responsibility seriously and make safety our first priority. We are proud of our safety record. If you have any questions regarding the Transportation Department please feel free to contact us.